Monday, June 4, 2012

Day 2 (again)

Light day today! I am really starting to love the energy gained from this.. My house is so much cleaner now haha!!! I have a new goal (usually I stick to one at a time, otherwise it's just too much!) It's to have 1 hour a day of focused exercise and laundry or dishes don't count!! Going along with the better eating idea, I'm looking into intuitive eating. It's based on a healthy attitude towards food, not dieting, but eating enough to satisfy the hunger and not saying something is 'good' or 'bad'. I'm just now learning about it, but it seems like a positive approach! xoxo

Sunday, June 3, 2012


Day 1 (again)

I was back out again running today... I thought it would be hard, but it felt great!!! My boys came with me and we spent the time racing from one point to another again and again. I love their laughter ❤ My cup runneth over. xoxo

Friday, June 1, 2012

Day 16
I have to say, as much as I love gimping around, I'm getting rather tired of it. The bruise covering the top of my foot and the fist sized one on my upper leg make running incredibly painful. I'm hoping my forced lazyness today benefits me, though I'll have to start day 1 again. I'm NOT quiting!  I have energy, I sleep really well, and I have more patience. Running is awesome! Looking forward to July 4th! Now to work on the diet part of it.... *sigh* This is a great place to start! We have created meal plans for this week that include fresh whole foods and so far everyone in the family likes it! I have homemade almond crunch granola in the oven right now. Toasting almonds and coconut in the oven makes the house smell so good! xoxo

Thursday, May 31, 2012

Day 15
I walked... kinda. I'm sick of hurting. I want to run again! Because this is me trying to get better than I was before, I say today counts! Everyday I get closer and better! xoxo

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Day 14
Putting on my left shoe was the worst part because of the bruise covering the whole top of my foot. Two weeks in and I'm not breaking my streak. I couldn't run more than a few steps at a time, but I got out there and I didn't cut my route short. Every step: ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch... I've haven't felt this good in a long time. I think mostly because I'm actually doing it. I have energy after I get back home and I love it! xoxo

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Day 13
I've been sleeping soooo good!!! I'm glad I got out this morning. I was still lacking energy from being sick, but ran a lot anyway! BUT, just after running I fell down the stairs.. I have a huge bruise on my toosh, the whole top of my left foot, my knee, and both ankles. *sad panda* Then, it started thunderstorming. I thought attempting to run while sick yesterday was rough. Tomorrow is definitly going to be interesting!!!

Monday, May 28, 2012

Day 12
Oh my! I have been sick today. (BUT, I didn't drink soda!) I didn't want to break the streak, so I got out there. I tried running, but had to stop after 5 steps... So. much. pain.  I decided to just walk my usual path. That still counts, right?!??! I vote yes! Ari was a bit disappointed, she kept shouting, "Run, Monet, run!!" ...She calls me Monet... weird, but I dig it. We've never corrected her!! Wish me luck for tomorrow. xoxo

Sunday, May 27, 2012

Day 11
We went on a butterfly hunt today and caught one! Have you ever gone jogging on gravel? Rough! Everyday closer to the 5k. Everyday getting a little better at jogging/running. Love it! Ok, so I had some soda today... Husband brought it home, I didn't want to offend him. haha xoxo

Saturday, May 26, 2012

Friday, May 25, 2012

Day 9
'If you start to feel tired, run faster. You won't feel better, but you'll get done quicker.' That goes through my mind everytime I'm running! So if you're out when I'm chug-a-lugging down the road, be sure to give me a cheer (after you're done snickering... I know you are... it's ok). I LOVE that I can run longer than I could a week ago. I wonder what it's going to be like next week!  Bt'dubs, NeVeR AgAiN will I take the dog and the baby on a run alone at the same time! I think the best part is a toss up between the 20 minutes of crying after I told the baby she couldn't hold the dog leash... and the dog constantly trying to run infront of the stroller. You would think she would catch on the 10th time the stroller bumped into her.. but nope! I've decided to stop drinking soda.. It's gonna be interesting, not impossible, but definitly interesting.. I'm really hoping it makes a difference! ...My feet feel weird... I'm just sayin'... xoxo

Thursday, May 24, 2012

Day 8
I'm really starting to like getting outside and running, I don't even slow down to a walk when I see other people around anymore! I took my dog with me today. Halfway through, I was pulling her along (the hills in my neighborhood are killer!), she is such a chunky-monkey! She's been sleeping for the last few hours.. so lazy! haha I'm thinking it's naptime for me now, too... and they say running gives people energy...  xoxo

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Day 7
WoW! I made it a week! Also, holy crap I was tired yesterday!! I was working on being able to keep a pace for an extended period. Small steps, but getting there. After running, I could barely function. I was grumpy and spent the rest of the day laying on the couch letting the kids run around crazy (a bag of chips counts as a meal for them, right?!?!!). I'm thinking that all of this finally caught up to me. Today, I did a 'light run' again. It was weird because I immediatly got a stitch in my side and it got worse when I tried to run. Atleast I'm doing it! I'm starting to realize that the days I drink soda before a run, I don't have nearly as much energy. This does not speak well for my addiction! Maybe it's time to end... maybe. I really love my pepsi! xoxo

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Monday, May 21, 2012

Day 5
It's raining, it's pouring... I wish I was snoring... I love rainy days, but that meant back to the treadmill. At about 8 min in, all I could think about was how boring it was and how much I wanted to stop. I felt strong enough to get through that block! Well, that was until this chick got on the treadmill next to me. She was like 6ft 12 and weighed 32 pounds. While she was prancing along, every step of mine was like: boom boom boom *gasp* boom boom boom *gasp*. It was great when she finished and husband started running next to me. I went a little faster, than he did, than I did, than he did... you can see where this is going.  I maxed out and he did his little victory grin. I'll get him soon! So, 2 miles in 28 min!!! A new success!! A couple days ago, it took 31 min to go that far and I thought if I was going to be doing this than I wanted to get better... even if it means I can barely move now haha! Totally worth it! xoxo

Sunday, May 20, 2012

Day 4
Oh my goodness... I ran more today than the last 3 days! During the last half, all I could think about was my jelly fish legs.  Husband came with me, Daniel rode his bike, Alex and Ari were both sitting in the jogging stroller. That thing is crazy tough to push up the hills! It was fun, husband kept shouting movie quotes and chants. Following his lead, everytime I slowed to walk, Ari shouted 'Run run'! I'd think it was embarrasing, but I already had a red face and was breathing loudly. I was way past that point.. I feel awesome, not because my body is feeling better (it's not!), but because of how much I ran! I'm actually looking forward to tomorrow. This 5k might be possible! xoxo

Saturday, May 19, 2012

Day 3
Let's call what I did today a 'light run'. Primarily walking with a few moments of running inbetween. I'm going to blame the sweet 8 yr old that came with me today, but it really is my inability to move my legs! How in the world do people do this?? The thing that got me out the door was my desire to write another post in this blog. I really am enjoying this... or at the very least finding it motivating. Whatever works, right? I've got my feet up and I'm watching Old School. My day is officially over! xoxo

Friday, May 18, 2012

Day 2
Did you read that? DAY 2! That's right! I made it to day 2! ..You may think I'm a dork, but everyday I made it further than before! So, I didn't get up early for running. Let's face it, that would probably never really happen. I was in town and stopped at the gym. Yesterday, outside, it took 45 min to go 1 1/2 miles. Today, on a treadmill, I went 2 miles in 31 minutes. I don't really have a distance or speed goal. It's pretty much just a 'I don't want to feel like I'm dying while running for a half hour' goal. I've never been a runner. In the past, it was tae kwon do and weight lifting. Right now, my body hates me! Maybe tomorrow I'll feel better... then again, if you see me crawling down the street, don't worry. I'm reaching my goal! btdubs, I love that quote! xoxo


Oh, this is the second blog I had to start! I couldn't get back into the other one, what's up with that?!??
Day 1

Yes, day one. I think I've made it through the shouting in my head saying It's much easier to not try. I've seen people reach day 346 or 1298 on their running streak and the words 'I can never do that' pop into my head. That is the greatest challenge, believing it when I tell myself everyone has to start somewhere. This is my somewhere. I pushed Ari in the stroller while Daniel rode his bike along side me. Up the big hills, I shouted to him, 'You can do it! Keep pedaling!' I believe it helped me just as much as it helped him. My legs feel like jelly, but I did it! I ran/walked/breathed heavily while leaning over the stroller for 1 1/2 miles! I don't struggle so much on a treadmill, the road is so different! Tomorrow, I have to wake up early and get in a jog before the meeting at the school. Waking up early.... I homeschool so I don't have to! I'm already thinking of reasons why I should just stay in, but there is a 5k I've commited to running with 2 very good friends.. pray for me! xoxo